Graduating in People Tree’s pencil skirt

I recently graduated from St Andrews university, with a degree in International Relations and Comparative Literature. It’s been the most amazing four years and grad week was surreal and exciting in equal measure. I was insanely nervous before the ceremony itself; opting for flat shoes just moments before I had to take my place.

There are fairly strict rules about what you have to wear, from the gown (which I hired) to the smartness of your shoes. A white shirt and black trousers/ a skirt are a must for everyone. As luck would have it, People Tree were having a sale when I began my search for an appropriate outfit.

It didn’t take me long to realise that the only pair of black trousers I owned just weren’t going to fit anymore; I bought them for MUN conferences when I was sixteen and have definitely gone up a size since then. I only have one really smart skirt and it’s grey… seriously, what was I thinking? Anyway, the quest began and I knew that I wanted something ethically made.

Despite having loved People Tree for as long as I can remember, I don’t think I’ve ever actually bought from them before. This time, a combination of timing, the fact I HAD to buy something and the sale meant that I was more resolute than normal in finalising my purchase. So, I graduated in People Tree! A wonderful brand for a wonderful day.

The skirt itself is fabulous: black, fairly tight, and comes to just below the knee. Smart and flattering all in one. I’m so glad I finally got around to buying something from People Tree, and will definitely be returning their in the future.

http://www.peopletree.co.uk

~ Jo ~

Leave a Reply

