A Bar of Soap

At the beginning of the summer, I went on a bit of a shopping spree. Personally, I think summer is one of the best times to try new stuff, especially if you are a student and busy during the academic year. One of the brands I was curious about was John Masters Organics, a company specializing in skin and hair care. If you check out their Philosopy page, they provide a very detailed account of what they believe in, what they do, and what they refuse to use in their products. I bought two of their products to start with, a conditioner and a bar of soap. Both have turned out to be really great! My hair has actually been noticeably softer, and the bar of soap lathers really well and smells divine.

But what really got me excited (before I even tried the stuff), was the packaging on the soap. First off, since it was a bar of soap, there was no plastic bottle to be dealt with later. I’ve always used liquid body wash, and have always had to throw away or recycle the container. But with this bar of soap, I am acutely aware that that isn’t the case. This particular John Masters soap comes wrapped in recyclable paper, and even the ink is biodegradable and non-toxic! Plastic tends to be recyclable (hint hint, everyone should recycle), but using a product that doesn’t have any plastic associated with it is a very nice feeling. I definitely urge people to check out soap bars, but be cautious of the packaging. Some will seem like paper, but also use plastic and/or a wax substance that means you can’t recycle it.

~ Gabi ~

Leave a Reply

