A Visit to Sephora

As soon as I got back to the United States for the summer, I did what any good makeup junkie does. I took a trip to Sephora. I also encountered my first real challenge to my dedication to buy only from certain, more ethical brands. The thing about Sephora is it stocks hundreds of brands, mainly on its website, and only very specific brands in store. And these brands tend to change depending on your location, especially in respect to country. I visited a Sephora in Paris that carried the brand, Lipstick Queen; a brand you won’t find in any American Sephora! in store or online.

So when it comes to shopping they way I am aiming to do, a Sephora store is a big old temptation, and also probably not the best place to end up. Plenty of there brands, like Kat Von D and Hourglass are cruelty free and/or vegan, but hardly any of their brands are Eco-friendly or organic. That being said, it isn’t completely impossible to find these brands. Online, Sephora stocks RMS Beauty, whose products are made without toxic ingredients and chemicals, and sold in recyclable containers.

In store, I was pleasantly surprised to find Ilia, another organic brand packaged in recyclable containers. You can also easily find Bite Beauty products, which are made from food-grade ingredients. If you know what to look for, you can still be an avid Sephora fan.

That being said, it was difficult to see a whole bunch of products I would otherwise have bought, but decided to turn away from. I don’t know quite what this means for my future makeup shopping, but I am pleased to say I didn’t fall at the first test. And I hope in the future, I will at least try and aim to shop as sustainably as possible.

~ Gabi ~

Leave a Reply

